NDSRC Scholarships

For questions about applying for the Morris Opp Scholarship, please contact Erin Dionne at edionne@altru.org

Download scholarship application and check list below:

1. Application Check List (PDF)

2. Scholarship Application (PDF)

Professional Enhancement Reimbursement Scholarship - Form (PDF)

Morris Opp Scholarship
2019 Winner:

Roslyn Lund, Coon Rapids MN

Morris Opp was a respiratory therapist at MeritCare Hospital in Fargo, ND from October, 1983 to May, 1987. He completed respiratory therapy school at Sioux Valley Hospital in Sioux Falls, SD in 1977 and became a registered respiratory therapist in 1979. After completing the RT program he then completed his Bachelors Degree at Augustana College also in Sioux Falls. Morris worked as a respiratory therapist in South Dakota until beginning work at MeritCare Hospital. Morris had been previously diagnosed with Hodgkin's disease, but at the time he joined the staff at MeritCare, he was in remission.

Morris eventually moved into a position as supervisor of the RT float team. He was well respected by his employees and peer associates as a therapist and as a leader within the department. Morris was active in our professional organization as well, serving as the treasurer of the Dakota Society for Respiratory Therapy during the mid-1980's.

In 1987, hoping for a cure for his Hodgkin's disease, Morris pursued the possibility of a bone marrow transplant. A transplant was performed in Omaha, Nebraska in May of 1987. Following the surgery, and the subsequent chemotherapy, Morris developed numerous complications, from which he did not recover. Morris died on May 12, 1987. Morris is remembered by those who knew him for his love of life and positive attitude, his awesome sense of humor, and the way he treated others with a sense of respect and fairness. In honor of his memory as a respected professional and friend, the North Dakota Society for Respiratory Care established the Morris Opp Scholarship, which is presented annually to a deserving student enrolled in a respiratory care program in North Dakota.

Application Procedure

Applications will be reviewed based on the following criteria:
1. Scholastic Achievement (50%)
2. Personal Ambitions and Goals (25%)
3. Personal References (15%) and
4. Community Involvement (10%).

Applicants will be AARC/NDSRC members.

Applications are reviewed anonymously by a committee consisting of three-five NDSRC members. Each category is rated on a scale of 1-10 individually by each committee member. After all applicants have been evaluated the scores are tallied. The applicant with the highest score is the recipient of the Morris Opp Memorial Scholarship. In the event of a tie, the applicants involved in the tie will be re-evaluated by the committee using the above formula until the tie is broken.

To apply for a scholarships please contact

Shari Hanson
801 N Broadway,  route #0270
Fargo, ND   58122

Deadline for applications: March 1 of each calendar year

Annual Scholarship Award Winners

1990 – Suzann Boehm -Bismarck, ND
1991 – Janet Grad -Bismarck, ND
1992 – Shosty Sorenson -Grand Rapids, MN
1993 – Corinna Dauenhauer -Bismarck, ND
1994 – Rudy Schatke - Bismarck, ND
1995 – Nicole Sutich -Mt. Iron, MN
1996 – Kristie Klimek - Lowry, MN
1997 – Breon Nelson -Menomonie, WI
1998 – Ted Wawrzyniak - Bismarck, ND
1999 – Laura Niemela -Perham, MN
2000 – Jill Peterson -Virginia, MN
2001 – John Hoyt -Bismarck, ND
2002 – Denise Lindblom -Fergus Falls, MN
2003 – Traci Rendulich -Thief River Falls, MN
2004 – Kimberly Horvey -Ralph, SD
2005 – Sonya Nehl -Bismarck, ND
2006 – Deneige Miles -Bismarck, ND
2007 - Nikki Wold- Bismarck, ND
2008 - Jessica Seifert- Bismarck, ND
2009 - Lindsey Lawson- Beulah, ND
2010- Ashley Jacobs, Jamestown ND
2011- Joselynne Hoff, Bowden, ND
2012- Lillian Ratchenski, Cavalier, ND

2013- Nicholas Werre
2014- Heather Stanton